21
Jul
10

James Taylor’s Strings

I have seen James Taylor perform a number of times.  Hands-down, one of my favourite musicians.  I can’t help but want to know about his guitar and capo and…strings.  There’s a reprint of an article that appeared in Acoustic Guitar Magazine in 1992 that gives some old info.  I found this on the Olsen Guitar site…Olsen is the luthier that makes his guitars.  Taylor used to use strings made by Phil Petillo but switched to Kaman Adamas.  So I thought I would give them a try.  They are not as ubiquitous as, say Elixir (my usual choice) or d’Addario (what I would use if Elixirs weren’t available).  But not hard to find and not expensive either.

I put them on my guitar while vacationing in Lake Placid a few weeks ago.  I use medium gauge (unlike James) and the string sizes were almost identical to what I get with Elixirs.  I anticipated some sweet surprises when I first played with the Adamas.  I cannot honestly say that there is any difference apart from the slight squeak you get with sliding up and down the fretboard (absent with the Gore coating on the Elixirs).  A nice string that won’t make me into James Taylor.

2 Responses to “James Taylor’s Strings”


  1. September 20, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact
    same comment. Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

